Sandra Oh and Sarayu Blue stand on red carpet events.

Sandra Oh, Sarayu Blue among CAPE 2nd annual Radiance honorees

The Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment have announced the women to be honored at next week's event

Sandra Oh (left) & Sarayu Blue (right)

Gregg DeGuire/FilmMagic, Amanda Edwards

The spotlight shines on Sandra Oh, Sarayu Blue and Ally Maki as they join a prestigious lineup of honorees at the second annual Radiance event from the Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment (CAPE). CAPE is a non-profit organization that has spent decades progressing AA+PI representation across the entertainment industry. Last year, they partnered with The Asian American Foundation (TAAF) to release a groundbreaking report on barriers faced by AA+PI executives.

Radiance is scheduled for Monday, March 11, at the historic The Ebell in Los Angeles, a philanthropic and educational organization founded by women in 1894. CAPE’s Radiance aims to honor the outstanding contributions of Asian and Pacific Islander (API) Women and Non-Binary individuals in the entertainment industry and it will also serve as a fundraiser for CAPE's various pathway programs. These initiatives include the CAPE New Writers Fellowship (CNWF), CAPE New Leaders Fellowship (CLF), Julia S. Gouw Short Film Challenge for API Women and Non-Binary Filmmakers, CAPE Animation Directors Accelerator and CAPE Emerging Executives Committee, among others.

This year’s event will be hosted by comedian and The Brothers Sun star Jenny Yang. Additionally, there will be a special musical performance by MILCK, who is best known for her  song “Quiet,” which gained widespread recognition as an anthem for the 2017 Washington D.C. Women’s March.

Quiz Lady and The Sympathizer actor Sandra Oh will receive the Luminary Award. Breakthrough The Creator star Madeleine Yuna Voyles will be honored with the Julia S. Gouw Next Gen award and Megan Suri from It Lives Inside and Netflix’s Never Have I Ever is the recipient of the Cindy Y. Huang Rising Star award.

The Visionary Award will go to Fawn Veerasunthorn, director of Disney’s Wish. Sarayu Blue of Amazon Prime Video’s Expats will take home the Actor in TV prize, while Ally Maki of Shortcomings and Seagrass will do the same for Actor in Film. Additionally, Adele Lim’s raunchy comedy Joy Ride will receive the Best in Film distinction.

A full list of honorees can be found here.

Published on March 6, 2024

Words by Daniel Anderson

Daniel Anderson is a disabled Chinese American adoptee based in Seattle. His freelance writing specialties include K-pop, entertainment, and food. He believes that any restaurant can be a buffet, and the key to success is to take a nap each day. Follow his adventures on Instagram @danzstan.